Preview | P. Craig Russell’s Jungle Book and Other Stories Fine Art Edition

Courtesy of Wayne Alan Harold and P. Craig Russell comes this preview of P. Craig Russell’s Jungle Book and Other Stories Fine Art Edition, currently on offer via Indiegogo until June 23rd. For a list of all Artist Edition style books, upcoming and published, please see our AE Index.

Includes: Jungle Book: The King’s Ankus (27 pages), Jungle Book: Red Dog (32 pages), Jungle Book: Spring Running (25 pages), Siegfried and the Dragon (9 pages), Between Two Worlds (3 pages), La Sonnambula and the City of Sleep (10 pages), Dance on the Razor’s Edge (8 pages), Heldentraum (6 pages), Drinking Song (3 pages), PLUS: Jungle Book covers and other behind-the-scenes material!

  • Publication Date: October 2017
  • 12″ x 17″
  • 144 pages
  • $100 USD plus shipping


Scott VanderPloeg Written by:

Editor-In-Chief. Scott works in I.T. but lives to eat and read. His other ramblings can be found at eBabble. Art collection at Comic Art Fans. Joe Shuster Awards Harry Kremer coordinator.

Subscribe to CBD via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe and receive notifications of new posts by email.

7 Comments

  1. June 9, 2017

    I am confused. I am someone lost on pricing?!?. Can someone help me? Released october 2017 the book sells for $100. Yet almost out of print – the book is available now for $1,490. Both appear to be the same Jungle Book and Other Stories. What am i missing?

    I like P Craig Russell’s art and wish to buy his artist edition as a sort of fun to color adult coloring book. Maybe watercolors of pink and yellow would work best. (P Craig being openly gay would likely approve!)

    Russell had previously inked a number of Jungle Book adaptations drawn by Gil Kane, published in Marvel Fanfare #8-11 (May 1983–Nov. 1983).. Opera would surface in Russell’s work, including a four-part adaptation of The Magic Flute, taken from Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart’s opera.

    P. Craig Russell is a B.W. Smith immitator. He even abbreviated his name like the British Conan master.

    P Craig Russell entered the comics industry in 1972 an assistant to Dan Adkins. Russell first became well known with his 11-issue Amazing Adventures run and subsequent graphicnovel featuring Killraven. P. Craig Russell, whose sensitive, elaborate artwork, evocative of Art Nouveau illustration, gave the landscape of Killraven’s America a nostalgic, pastoral feel, and the Martian architecture the look of futuristic castles. Green 4 armed martian warriors come to mind.

    At DC Comics, Russell inked Batman stories in Batman Family and Detective Comics over the pencils of Michael Golden and Jim Starlin respectively.

    Withdrawing for a while from mainstream comics, Russell produced a number of experimental strips, many of which were later published in his Night Music series and in Epic Illustratted.

    Edit
    Russell’s first Elric story, the Roy Thomas scripted “The Dreaming City”, was published by Marvel Comics in 1982 as Marvel Graphic Novel #2, following initial publication of the first half of the graphic novel in Epic Illustrated. For the next series, “Elric of Melnibone”, also written by Roy Thomas,

    This story was published by Pacific Comics as Elric issues #1-6 in 1983–1984. Russell did not return to Elric until 1997 when he collaborated directly with Michael Moorcock on Elric: Stormbringer, co-published by Dark Horse Comics and Topps Comics.[6

    In 1984, Russell began Night Music, an ongoing anthology series for Eclipse Comics featuring some of his most heralded literary and operatic adaptations. Russell has previously used the same title for a black and white collection of the earliest of these works, published by Eclipse Comics. Included in this series was “The King’s Ankus”, adapted from Rudyard Kipling’s Jungle Book.

    Russell inked Mike Mignola’s pencils on the Phantom Stranger limited series in 1987. ]Russell collaborated with writer Neil Gaiman, illustrating issue #50 of Gaiman’s comic series The Sandman, titled “Ramadan” later included in the collection The Sandman: Fables and Reflections. Russell illustrated the first story in Gaiman’s later Sandman graphic novel, Endless Nights, and adapted both Gaiman’s short story “Murder Mysteries” and his children’s book Coraline into comics form.[

    In December 2007, Desperado published The Art of P. Craig Russell, a 256-page retrospective of Russell’s career. It was nominated for the 2008 Eisner Award for Best Comics-Related Book.

    A documentary feature about the artist, Night Music: The Art of P. Craig Russell, premiered at the 2008 Mid-Ohio Con in Columbus, Ohio.

    In November 2015, Wayne Alan Harold Productions published the P. Craig Russell Sketchbook Archive, a 250-page hardcover art book featuring the best of Russell’s personal sketchbooks.

    Also, Wayne Alan Harold Productions released P. Craig Russell’s Guide to Graphic Storytelling: Elric Edition in December 2016, an instructional video with Russell teaching the art of comic-book storytelling by examining sequences from the Elric stories “The Dreaming City” and “While the Gods Laugh.

    Wayne Alan Harold Productions also published Virtuoso: A P. Craig Russell Adult Coloring Book, an 80–page adult coloring book featuring Russell-selected black & white images that are suitable for coloring.

    Coloring P.Craig’s work is the most “funnest” thing i could think of doing with this artists edition!

    Stevie V.

  2. June 9, 2017

    Site says:

    P. Craig Russell’s Jungle Book and Other Stories
    Last chance to get a Fine Art Edition that presents complete stories scanned from the original art!

    Wayne Alan Harold
    Kent, Ohio, United States
    About
    $1,655 USD raised by 13 backers
    17% of $10,000
    flexible goal
    13 days left

    Maybe i am seeing the kickstarter, for contributions,??

    Maybe for Oct.2017 $100 book release.

    I am not sure how these things work.

  3. June 9, 2017

    Book was initially solicited through a Kickstarter, which was successful. I wrote about it here. Now Wayne has launched an Indiegogo for the same book. So there’s another opportunity for people to preorder.

  4. June 10, 2017

    Thanks for explaining. I think i get the drift of it now. Please realize that i know lots about comic books and original art, but almost nothing about Art Editions, Artist Editions, Kick-starters, indiegogo or Folio Geicee Prints of proof Original Art.

    It would be helpful for someone to write a comic book daily “spotlight”about the ins-and-outs of terminology and the basics of artist editions. Some are from acutal originals, others from pencils, others from colored scans.

    I might buy some, but worry i may be donating $100 to fund a future project, as opposed to acually ordering a book. For a donation of $100 now, apparantly i will get a book as a gift in October, but each gift must accrue separate shipping charges. Apparantly too, sometimes these projects get delayed or cancelled, and my gift book may not actally happen. I think Wayne Alan Harold has a positive successful track record of completing artist editions books, but some other kick starters may not.

    I remember at an original art convention, and someone was asking for scans of art to publish a 13″ x 20” book of silver age originals, and taking pre-orders for books that would retail for $700 USD, asking for 10% deposit, but i am unsure if it ever was published.

  5. June 10, 2017

    Also your 15th photo scan shows a slightly colored vellum, transparant item “in my heaven…in my loves”…not sure what it is? Why so faint?!? — I am puzzled here. Maybe its an overlay of art with art under?

  6. June 10, 2017

    In the 1980s painted colour was done by making an acetate copy of the inked art and the colours were painted on the board with the acetate taped over it.

  7. June 10, 2017

    Stevie, more has been written about artist editions on this site then anywhere else on the internet. I’ve reviewed every published volume from all publishers. To start check out the AE Index page and then read Defining The AE Formats. If you’re looking for artist’s edition information this is the place!

Make It Good.