The 6th annual Joe Shuster awards

Last night on Saturday June 5th were the 6th annual Joe Shuster awards which honors some of Canada’s greatest comic creators and recognizes their contributions to a fantastic industry.

This year’s categories and winners were:

Harry Kramer Retailers: The Beguiling, Toronto, ON

Outstanding Comic Book Publisher: La Pasteque

Comics For Kids: Nightschool The Weirn Books by Svetlana Chmakova

Gene Day award for Self-Publishing Ethan Rilly for Pope Hats

Outstanding Cover: Darwyn Cooke for Richard Stark’s Parker The Hunter

Outstanding Comic Book Colourist: Nathan Fairbairn

Outstanding Comic Book Artist: Stuart Immonen

Outstanding Comic Book Writer: Maryse Dubuc, Les Nombrils, Tome 04

Outstanding Web Comics Creator: Karl Kerschel for The Abominable Charles Christopher (a well deserved win, this series is awesome!)

Outstanding Comic Book Cartoonist: Michel Rabagliati

This year’s show also saw the induction of a number of creators into the Shusters Hall of Hame. Canadian Comic greats such as Serge Gaboury, Dave Darrigo, Deni Loubert and the masterminds behind Captain Canuck who recently celebrated his 35th birthday; Claude St Aubin, George Freeman and Richard Comely.

Comic Book Daily Staff
Comic Book Daily Staff

Comic Book Daily, discussing the minutiae of comic book collecting. Thanks for stopping by; if you like what you read please take a moment and have a look around.

Articles: 894