Kapow Comic Con, London May 19-20 2012

With the next big event in the UK scene fast approaching, I thought it best to open the box on the ‘Kapow!’ ComicCon and break it into little nuggets of joy for all to nibble as they see fit.  I was pleasantly surprised by the heavy hitting line-up and… actually, I can’t wait to go along and be a jolly-happy nerd for a couple of days – mustard.

The pick of the guests are as follows…

Joe Quesada
Dan DiDio
Scott Snyder
Sara Pichelli
Olivier Coipel
Frank Quitely
Terry Dodson
Mark Millar
Bryan Hitch
Dave Gibbons
and the list goes on…

Check the website for the full list of guests/VIP’s – http://kapowcomicconvention.com/ – a shockingly strong list of heroes.

After a short dialog with one of the shows organisers, I’ve also managed scoop some news on the panel schedule…

“DC have announced their plans to bring some of the company’s top executives and creators to Kapow! Co-Publisher Dan DiDio, Vertigo Senior Editor and BEFORE WATCHMEN series editor, Will Dennis, Senior Vice President of Sales Bob Wayne, and a roster of major talent including Scott Snyder, Peter Milligan, Paul Cornell and Ian Churchill will join the panel line-up for DC.” –   I’ll prepare a bunch of questions but, if you can think of anything cool to ask these chaps, do let me know.

Last year was a really strong show by all accounts – and although I wasn’t actually able to attend myself, I did hear very good things about ‘Kapow!’  from fellow nerds.  The organisers are seemingly very proud to announce the return of the annual ‘Stan Lee Awards’ covering the last 12 months in the industry…“Kapow! is once again hosting the annual Stan Lee Awards and the list of nominations has been compiled by a variety of expert judges from the world of comics, movies, TV, gaming, publishing and entertainment.“

Nominations will only be open until this Thursday 12th April – so submit your votes via the website now (http://kapowcomicconvention.com/awards) or peruse the nominations below in the meantime/after the 12th.   Winners will be announced at The Stan Lee Awards ceremony at Kapow! on the Saturday (19th May 2012).

And the nominees are…

Best Writer:
Scott Snyder
Mark Millar
Grant Morrison
Mark Waid

Best Artist:
J H Williams III
Greg Capullo
Sara Pichelli

Best Series:
Uncanny X-Force
Detective Comics
Locke & Key

Best Superhero or SciFi Movie:
Captain America: The First Avenger
Rise of the Planet of the Apes
X-Men: First Class

Best Trade:
Who Is Jake Ellis?
Walter Simonson’s The Mighty Thor: Artist’s Edition
Fables Vol 15: Rose Red
The Walking Dead Vol 14: No Way Out

Best Limited Series or Story Arc:
Criminal: Last of the Innocent
The Dark Angel Saga

Best Comic Hero:
Wonder Woman

Best Newcomer:
Justin Jordan
Nate Simpson
Sara Pichelli
Tradd Moore

Best Publisher:

Best TV Show:
Breaking Bad
Game of Thrones
The Walking Dead
Doctor Who

Best Game or Toy:
Batman Arkham City
L.A. Noire
Portal 2
The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim

Man or Woman of the Year:
Jane Goldman
Jim Lee
Robert Kirkman
Scott Snyder

Please leave a comment below if you’d like to vote (in the interests of simple fun alone) – since some of these nominations are questionable at best.


Danny Champion
Danny Champion

Danny Champion is a freelance writer and artist. Follow CandyAppleFox on Twitter.

Articles: 104
1 Comment
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
12 years ago

Im going x