Review: Velvet Vol 1

The main character Velvet is a wonderful subversion of the expected spy genre. Brubaker and Epting ask the question “what if Miss Moneypenny were a spy?” and the result is a robust, complex story.

Review | Lazarus Vol 1: Family

Lazarus by Greg Rucka and Michael Lark combines family dynasties, with all its intrigue and plot twists, and high tech action adventure to create a rewarding page turner.

Review | Dia de los Muertos Jun24

Review | Dia de los Muertos

Riley Rossmo invites a handful of great writers to his Dia de los Muertos party, and the results are fantastic.

Review | Bedlam #1-6 Apr22

Review | Bedlam #1-6

A look back at the first arc of Bedlam, a violent and beautiful comics that questions the very nature of evil.

Review | Scene Of The Crime

A new edition from Image provides an opportunity to enjoy an early work from Brubaker, Lark and Phillips. From the co-creators of Gotham Central and FATALE comes a lost crime noir masterpiece. Long out of print, and presented here for the first time in an oversized hardback edition, SCENE OF...

Review | Storm Dogs #1 Nov26

Review | Storm Dogs #1

The first issue of David Hine’s sci-fi crime thriller hits all the right notes.

Review | Saga Volume 1

A compelling and empathetic tale of two people from different cultures trying to make it work, Saga Volume 1 by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples render a “human” tale. From New York Times bestselling writer BRIAN K.VAUGHAN (Y: THE LAST MAN, EX MACHINA) and critically acclaimed...

Review | Thief Of Thieves Vol 1: I Quit

In the tradition of Ocean’s Eleven and The Thomas Crown Affair, Robert Kirkman and crew’s Thief Of Thieves Vol 1: I Quit provides a heist caper full of twists and surprises.

Review | Memoir #6: troubled series but great finish Oct01

Review | Memoir #6: troubled series but great finish

Now that Memoir’s long overdue finale has arrived, does it live up to the title’s auspicious beginnings? Yes and no.

Creator Owned?

Do the big 2 need to provide a solid creator owned platform for their regular talent? Or is it better that Marvel and DC maintain a primary mind-set of  “Our property, edited our way.”?   allowing the second tier publishers to fight over the creator-owned projects between them. Tricky one. ...

Review | Prophet Vol. 1: Remission Sep11

Review | Prophet Vol. 1: Remission

As reboots go, PROPHET is somewhat out of the ordinary. Image’s update bears only a passing resemblance to the Extreme title from the ’90s on which it is based. Yet instead of beginning at the beginning with a #1, the creators decided to pick up the numbering where it left off, at #21....

Wild Children Aug13

Wild Children

WILD CHILDREN Written by Ales Kot Art by Riley Rossmo Colors/edits by Gregory Wright Letters by Clayton Cowles Published July 2012 by Image Comics 64 pages, full color Order online: Amazon, Book Depository Much like its protagonists, WILD CHILDREN is a book that desperately wants to mean...

Twitter Has Spoken

This week I wanted something different to read.  So I asked the Twitter-verse to help me out and tell me which comics I should pick up this week (you can follow me too @EdCampbell_CBD).  Just using the hash-tags #comic, #comicbooks and #comics, I asked which comics should I pick up this week?...

Review | Fatale Book One: Death Chases Me

This is one of thew few comics I had trouble waiting on the collected edition: a new book from Ed Brubaker and Sean Phillips is reason enough to pick it up, and having just consumed Fatale Book One: Death Chases Me I’m hungry for more. The first arc of Image’s surprise hit is...

The Strange Talent Of Luther Strode May07

The Strange Talent Of Luther Strode

Another Image book that garnered a lot of buzz is The Strange Talent Of Luther Strode. Luther Strode is just your average geek until he sends for an exercise course from the back of an old comic book. What he gets is the instruction manual from a murder cult as old as mankind that does...

America’s Got Powers

Last week I picked up the much hyped and strangely British America’s got Powers (IMAGE) by TV funny man Jonathan Ross and newly freelance Bryan Hitch, whom actually celebrated his birthday on Sunday.   I was lucky enough to pick up a signed copy since the pair recently visited London’s...

Near Death Vol. 1 Mar01

Near Death Vol. 1

Lots of internet chatter over Near Death, so I pre-ordered the trade paperback and tore my way through it when it arrived. The critically acclaimed crime series is collected for the first time, featuring exclusive bonus material. Meet Markham, a professional killer who has a near death...

The Last Battle Jan17

The Last Battle

Originally printed in 2005 as L’Ultima Battaglia by The Walt Disney Company Italia, The Last Battle by Tito Faraci and Dan Brereton is an English translation published by Image Comics. In 52 BCE, General Caius Rodius, retired hero of Caesar’s Legions, is called back to war. In...

Bryan Hitch leaves Marvel

British artist Bryan Hitch leaves Marvel after a solid decade, producing some of the industry’s best-loved work AND completing his piece in Marvel’s “foundation of 2012″ (with Bendis), Ultron War, Hitch confirmed on Twitter… “my end is done!”. Hitch began his career in...

Who Is Jake Ellis? Nov22

Who Is Jake Ellis?

I kept hearing things about a new mini series; snippets of praise for Who Is Jake Ellis? from Image Comics. The trade paperback was released last week and I breezed through it.